LibGuides: Fashion Design: Getting Started

Chat with a Librarian

Library FAQ

Ask a Librarian

Circulation Desk

Contact the Circulation Desk when the library is open for general questions about hours, renewals, etc.
Phone: 315-655-7240

Or, email us anytime at asklib@cazenovia.libanswers.com

Library Hours of Operation

Hours of Operation

Semester Hours

Monday - Thursday: 7:45 a.m. - midnight

Friday: 7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Saturday: 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Sunday: 2:00 p.m. - midnight

In the event of severe weather, please contact the library to confirm our hours.

Chat with a Librarian Hours

Semester Hours

Monday - Thursday: 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Friday: 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Sunday: 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

When chat is offline, you can get help by searching our Library FAQ knowledge base or submitting your question to asklib@cazenovia.libanswers.com

Reference Resources

The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design by Armin Vit; Bryony Gomez Palacio
Call Number: Ref 745.403 .B6559 2016 v. 1
ISBN: 9781472521576
Publication Date: 2015-12-17
The library has volumes 1, 2, and 3.
"Provides a comprehensive guide to design, with entries on key topics in the history and theory of design, addressing a range of design forms including graphic, textile, furniture, metal, ceramic, fashion, stage and film, vehicle and product design, as well as national histories of design and key design movements."
Clothing and Fashion: American Fashion From Head to Toe by José Blanco F. (Editor); Patricia Kay Hunt-Hurst (Editor); Heather Vaughan; Mary Doering (Editor)
Call Number: Ref 391.009 .B6415 2016
ISBN: 9781610693097
Publication Date: 2015-11-23
The library has all four volumes. They are also available online.
"This unique four-volume encyclopedia examines the historical significance of fashion trends, revealing the social and cultural connections of clothing from the precolonial times to the present day".
The Dictionary of Fashion History by Valerie Cumming; C. W. Cunnington; P. E. Cunnington
Call Number: Ref 391.009 .C9719d 2017
ISBN: 9781472577702
Publication Date: 2017-09-07
"Featuring over 60 new and revised entries on diverse topics such as the Onesie, Brothel Creepers and the Birkin Bag, this edition is even more comprehensive and brings this costume historian's bible fully up to date".
The Fairchild Books Dictionary of Textiles by Phyllis G. Tortora; Ingrid Johnson
Call Number: Ref 677.003 .F165f
ISBN: 9781609015350
Publication Date: 2013-09-17
"The eighth edition of this industry standard for textile terminology is fully revised and expanded featuring approximately 100 new entries and over 14,000 definitions of fibers, fabrics, laws and regulations affecting textile materials and processing, inventors of textile technology, and business and trade terms relevant to textiles".
The Fairchild Encyclopedia of Fashion Accessories by Phyllis G. Tortora; Fairchild Publications Staff (Contribution by); Bina Abling
Call Number: Ref 391.003 .T712f
ISBN: 9781563672835
Publication Date: 2003-05-05
"Provides a broad overview of contemporary fashion accessories. Not only does the work focus on individual categories of fashion, but it also examines the components from which accessories are constructed."
Fashion 150 by Arianna Piazza (Editor)
Call Number: Ref 391 .F248 2016
ISBN: 9781780676203
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
"Covering everyone from Azzedine Alaia to Yohji Yamamoto, and everything from Boho Chic to Space Age style, this is an indispensible and delightful guide to the creative world of fashion. This encyclopedic volume contains over 150 entries on designers and styles, with multiple images and a comprehensive text for each one".
Fashion, Costume, and Culture by Sara Pendergast; Tom Pendergast; Sarah Hermsen
Call Number: Ref 391.009 P397f v. 1-5
ISBN: 9780787654177
Publication Date: 2003-12-05
The library has volumes 1 - 5.
"Provides information about the cultural, religious and social implications of human decoration and adornment throughout history."
Fashion Innovators by Salem Press
Call Number: Ref 746.92 .F248
ISBN: 9781619258983
Publication Date: 2016-05-30
The library has volumes 1 and 2.
"Highlighting the importance of fashion and design and its impact on social and cultural norms and trends over the hundred years."
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through American History, 1900 to the Present by Amy T. Peterson (Editor); Ann T. Kellogg (Editor); José Blanco F.; Valerie Hewitt; Scott Leff; Lynn W. Payne; Heather Vaughan
Call Number: Ref 391.009 .B6415c
ISBN: 9780313358555
Publication Date: 2008-10-30
The library has volumes 1 and 2.
"This fascinating reference set provides two levels of information: descriptions of styles of clothes that Americans have worn and, as important, why they wore those types of clothes."
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by Gerald W. R. Ward
Call Number: Ref 702.8 .G8832 2008
ISBN: 9780195313918
Publication Date: 2008-10-06
"Deals with all aspects of materials, techniques, conservation, and restoration in both traditional and nontraditional media, including ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, works on paper, textiles, video, digital art, and more...this work is a comprehensive reference resource for artists, art dealers, collectors, curators, conservators, students, researchers, and scholars."
Plunkett's Apparel and Textiles Industry Almanac 2017 (ebook) by Jack W. Plunkett (Editor)
Call Number: Ref 338.768 .P7373 2017
ISBN: 9781628317602
Publication Date: 2017-04-17
"The data and areas of interest covered are intentionally broad, ranging from design trends to developments in logistics and technologies, to an in-depth look at the major firms within the many segments that make up the apparel and textiles industry".