LibGuides: Fashion Design: External Resources

Evaluating Websites

OWL - Evaluating Digital Sources
Guide from Purdue University on how to evaluate digital resources like websites for use in academic work.
UC Berkeley - Evaluating Resources
Guide for evaluating websites

Online Exhibits

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
"The Met's Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the museum's collection."
Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum
"Founded in 1897, this venerable design institute was extensively refurbished in 2014: the new and improved design museum, housed in the iconic Andrew Carnegie Mansion on Fifth Avenue in New York City, offers a fascinatingly immersive experience".
Textile Museum of Canda
"The Textile Museum of Canada’s collection consists of more than 15,000 objects including a salmon skin suit from China; 2,000 year old Nazca fragments from Peru; and a hooked rug by artist Florence Ryder (Standing Buffalo Reserve, Saskatchewan) that incorporates traditional Sioux designs".
Bata Shoe Museum's All About Shoes
"This Bata Shoe Museum website features virtual museum exhibitions that fall into the themes of Canadian Aboriginal cultures, Footwear of Canada's Multi-cultural Groups, Fashion Footwear and Special Purpose Footwear".

Image Collections

These resources are a mix of open access, Creative Commons licensed, and stock image collections. Therefore copyright status, attribution requirement, and use restrictions vary. If you are interested in reusing any of these images in your own work, you are responsible for reading the license information on that content and following the terms and conditions for use.

Art Institute of Chicago - Open Access Collection
"The Art Institute of Chicago is pleased to offer free, unrestricted use of over 50,000 images of works in the collection believed to be in the public domain or to which the museum otherwise waives any copyright it might have. Such images are made available under Creative Commons Zero (CC0) designation and the Terms and Conditions of this website".
Biodiversity Heritage Library Image Collection (via Flickr)
"The BioDivLibrary Flickr collection is specially curated by book, subject, and contributor to make it easier for you to find images related to specific research needs."
Google Arts & Culture
Stories and other visual content about cultures and art collections around the world, curated by Google. "Use tools to explore by time and color, zoom to view artworks in amazing detail, tour famous sites and landmarks, and more".
Library of Congress Historical Photo Collection (via Flickr)
"The Prints & Photographs Division takes care of 14 million of the Library's pictures and features more than 1 million through online catalogs. Offering historical photo collections through Flickr is a welcome opportunity to share some of our most popular images more widely."
Smithsonian Open Access
"Welcome to Smithsonian Open Access, where you can download, share, and reuse millions of the Smithsonian’s images—right now, without asking. With new platforms and tools, you have easier access to nearly 3 million 2D and 3D digital items from our collections—with many more to come".

Interdisciplinary Reference Resources

NY State Library - databases and e-journals
Electronic databases and journals available for free to all New Yorkers. In order to access them you can either:
a. Use a New York State Library borrower's card (apply for a NYS Library card here), or
b. Access the NOVEL NY databases through Witherill Library's subscription.

General Resources

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
A selection of primary sources, hosted by ProQuest.
Digital Commons Network
Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
Digital Public Library of America
Free, primary source images, texts, videos, and sounds from institutions across the United States.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Online directory that provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
The Food Timeline
Created and maintained by librarian Lynne Olver until 2015 (now archived on the Internet Archive), this website compiles a chronological history of food and recipes, along with their origin, history, related food, and recommended reading. Foods are also indexed alphabetically and by topic.
Google Scholar
Search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions.
Independent Voices
Open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals.
Internet Archive - Open Library
A catalog of digitized books contributed by libraries for users to borrow for free. An account with Internet Archive is required.
Library of Congress: Free to Use and Reuse Sets
Items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. Content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use.
LibriVox
Free, public domain audiobooks.
New York Heritage Digital Collections
Over 350 libraries, museums, archives, and other cultural institutions in New York make their collections of primary source materials (photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, and more) available in this digital repository.
NY Public Library Digital Collections
Primary source prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, video, and more.
NYS Historic Newspapers
Free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's history.
OASIS
Developed by SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library, OASIS searches open content from 98 different sources.
Smithsonian Collections
Search the Smithsonian Institute's digital collections.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States
From the U.S. Census Bureau, the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organizations of the United States of America.
Taylor & Francis: Open Access eBooks
Open access books and chapters with subjects in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences, published by Taylor & Francis Group.
USA.gov
Government information and services on a variety of topics, including the environment, education, health, law, business, immigration, and federal, state, local, and tribal government agencies.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics: Office of Publications & Special Studies
Articles, reports, graphs, and more. Includes the Occupational Outlook Handbook, Handbook of Methods, and other government statistical reports.
U.S. Department of the Interior
Provides scientific and other information about natural resources and hazards.
WorldCat
Search the collections of other libraries, in your community and thousands more around the world.

Biographies

Biography
Biographies of celebrities, politicians, criminals, historical figures, and other famous people
First Families
Brief biographies of American president's spouses.
The New York Times - Obituaries
Brief biographies of notable people from around the world.
POTUS
Facts, documents, videos, and trivia about the Presidents of the United States of America.