Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
Contact the Circulation Desk when the library is open for general questions about hours, renewals, etc.
Or, email us anytime at email@example.com
Library Hours of Operation
Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday: 7:45 a.m. - midnight
Friday: 7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday: 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sunday: 2:00 p.m. - midnight
In the event of severe weather, please contact the library to confirm our hours.
Chat with a Librarian Hours
Monday - Thursday: 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday: 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday: 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
When chat is offline, you can get help by searching our Library FAQ knowledge base or submitting your question to firstname.lastname@example.org
The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by
Call Number: Ref 103 .C178 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-27
"This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century...it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields."
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by
Call Number: Ref 940.25 .E56 v.1-4
Publication Date: 2002-12-26
The library has volumes 1-4.
Volume 1: Abbadie-Enlightment studies. Volume 2: Enthusiasm-lyceums and museums. Volume 3: Mably-Ruysch. Volume 4: Sade-zoology
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition by
Call Number: Ref 808.003 .E56e
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
"Drawing on the scholarship and expertise of 288 contributors, the Encyclopedia presents a long-needed overview of rhetoric and its role in contemporary education and communications, discusses rhetoric's contributions to various fields, surveys the applications of this versatile discipline to the teaching of English and language arts, and illustrates its usefulness in all kinds of discourse, argument, and exchange of ideas."
Ideas and Movements That Shaped America by
Call Number: Ref 303.48 .G7973i v. 1-3
Publication Date: 2015-07-28
The library has volumes 1-3.
"Examines the evolution of American society and thought from the nation's beginnings to the 21st century. It covers the seminal ideas and social movements that define who we are as Americans--from the ideas that underpin the Bill of Rights to slavery, the Civil Rights movement, and the idea of gay rights--even if U.S. citizens often strongly disagree on these topics."
The Nietzsche Dictionary by
Call Number: Ref 193 .B9662n
Publication Date: 2014-11-20
"The Nietzsche Dictionary aims to help, by giving readers a road map to Nietzsche's language, and thus how his terminology and images relate together, forming an overall philosophical picture. The Dictionary also includes synopses of Nietzsche's key works, and short articles on the main philosophical and cultural influences leading up to, and resulting from, Nietzsche."
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought by
Call Number: Ref 960.03 .O98 v.1-2
Publication Date: 2010-04-27
The library has volumes 1-2.
Volume 1: Abolitionism - Imperialism. Volume 2: Independence movements - Yemọja.
Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion by
Call Number: Ref 210.3 .D545
Publication Date: 2010-08-19
"A Dictionary of Philosophy of Religion is an indispensable resource for students and scholars. Covering historical and contemporary figures, arguments, and terms, it offers an overview of the vital themes that make philosophy of religion the growing, vigorous field that it is today. It covers world religions and sources from east and west. Entries have been crafted for clarity, succinctness, and engagement."
The Oxford Companion to Philosophy by
Call Number: Ref 100 .H771o
Publication Date: 1995-08-31
"...In The Oxford Companion to Philosophy, readers have the most authoritative and engaging one-volume reference work on philosophy available, offering clear and reliable guidance to the ideas of all notable philosophers from antiquity to the present day, and to the major philosophical systems around the globe, from Confucianism to phenomenology."
Here is a full list of philosophy reference books at the Cazenovia College Library.