Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
Contact the Circulation Desk when the library is open for general questions about hours, renewals, etc.
Or, email us anytime at email@example.com
Library Hours of Operation
Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday: 7:45 a.m. - midnight
Friday: 7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday: 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sunday: 2:00 p.m. - midnight
In the event of severe weather, please contact the library to confirm our hours.
Chat with a Librarian Hours
Monday - Thursday: 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday: 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday: 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
When chat is offline, you can get help by searching our Library FAQ knowledge base or submitting your question to firstname.lastname@example.org
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising by
Call Number: Ref 659.103 .A244 v.1
Publication Date: 2002-11-22
The library has volumes 1, 2, and 3.
"Featuring nearly 600 extensively illustrated entries, The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising provides detailed historic surveys of the world's leading agencies and major advertisers, as well as brand and market histories; it also profiles the influential men and women in advertising, overviews advertising in the major countries of the world, covers important issues affecting the field, and discusses the key aspects of methodology, practice, strategy, and theory".
American Illustration by
Call Number: Ref 741.609 .A512 v.32
Publication Date: 2014-01-31
The library only has volume 32.
A collection of 369 winning images as selected by a jury from 8,742 entries submitted to the annual American Illustration competition. It presents one image per page in alphabetical order by artist.
The Encyclopedia of Animated Cartoons by
Call Number: Ref 791.43 .L563e
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
"A reference guide to animated cartoons that includes more than 3,100 entries on cartoon series, specials, and feature films, including information on creators, production staff, studios, voice credits, release dates, and more".
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns by
Call Number: Ref 659.10973 .E56
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
"Details on 500 U.S. marketing campaigns in the 20th century, each selected because of "its conceptual value or innovation ... the importance of the company or brand for which it was run; and its effectiveness in selling the advertised product or service.""
Graphic Design, Referenced by
Call Number: Ref 741.6 .G7662g
Publication Date: 2011-12-01
"From Caslon and Carson, from Gutenberg to Greiman, from Lascaux to letterpress, and from Postmodernism to pixel (among other entries), this title will provide all the necessary information and visual cues that designers need to know in order to become empowered, work efficiently and knowingly, and survive in a design conversation with peers".
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by
Call Number: Ref 702.8 .G8832 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-06
"The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques deals with all aspects of materials, techniques, conservation, and restoration in both traditional and nontraditional media, including ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, works on paper, textiles, video, digital art, and more. Drawing upon the expansive scholarship in The Dictionary of Art and adding new entries, this work is a comprehensive reference resource for artists, art dealers, collectors, curators, conservators, students, researchers, and scholars".
The Guild Handbook of Scientific Illustration by
Call Number: Ref 502.22 .G955
Publication Date: 2003-05-29
"Sponsored by the Guild of Natural Science Illustrators and written by top illustrators, scientists, and industry experts, The Guild Handbook of Scientific Illustration, Second Edition is an indispensable reference guide for anyone who produces, assigns, or simply appreciates scientific illustration."
Historical Dictionary of Animation and Cartoons by
Call Number: Ref 791.433 D635 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-03
"Historical Dictionary of Animation and Cartoons is an introduction to all aspects of animation history and its development as a technology and industry beyond the familiar cartoons from Disney and Warner Bros. studios."
The Oxford Handbook of Science Fiction by
Call Number: Ref 809.3 .O982s
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
"The Handbook begins with a focus on questions of genre, covering topics such as critical history, keywords, narrative, the fantastic, and fandom. A subsequent section on media engages with film, television, comics, architecture, music, video games, and more. The genre's role in the convergence of art and everyday life animates a third section, which addresses topics such as UFOs, the Atomic Era, the Space Race between the US and USSR, organized religion, automation, the military, sexuality, steampunk, and retrofuturism. The final section on worldviews features perspectives on science fiction's relationship to the gothic, evolution, colonialism, feminism, afrofuturism, utopianism, and posthumanism".
Stylepedia: A Guide to Graphic Design Mannerisms, Quirks, and Conceits by
Call Number: Ref 701.8 .H477s
Publication Date: 2006-11-09
"A chunky, distinctive object of brilliant design in and of itself, Stylepedia is the first handy, cross-referenced desk guide to the kaleidoscope that is modern design. In hundreds of illustrated entries, Heller and Fili, the award-winning authors of Euro Deco and numerous other popular design titles, survey the designers, schools, and movements that comprise the practice today as well as take a fascinating glimpse back at some of the seminal early leaders".
World War II Infographics by
Call Number: Ref 940.53 .I433w
Publication Date: 2019-09-10
"Tells the story of the great conflict through graphic design...infographics allow data to be comprehensible to the general reader while still satisfying demands for the rigorous approach of a historian."