"EuroDocs offers links to primary sources in European history that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or
translated (including some video, sound files, maps, photographs, etc.). The sources in EuroDocs cover a wide range of subject areas including politics, economics, and social and cultural history."
"The Guide to Law Online, prepared by the Law Library of Congress Public Services Division, is an annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information."
"A premier repository of Native art and material culture and tells the stories of the people of the Southwest from pre-history through contemporary art".
"Information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities".
"Duke University has put together this study guide relating to women’s role during the war. Use the tab labeled “Primary Sources Online,” which includes digitized diaries and letters, as well as outside links to other institutions’ collections. The online papers include a collection from Rose O’Neal Greenhow, a famed Confederate spy. Other letters include those written by African American slaves, describing their living conditions in the South."
"Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present".
"An important daily newspaper, the Eagle was unusual for its time since it covered national as well as regional news. The archive is searchable, can be browsed by date, and includes zooming capabilities to see the tiny text up close."
"The archive of this popular weekly newspaper highlights only the Civil War years. The site is searchable and is arranged chronologically with thumb-nails of the front pages. All pages from the 1861–1865 Civil War period have been scanned including the engravings and illustrations."
With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies to locate an archive with the information they need.
"The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction".
Includes New York State publications: contemporary materials from 1995 to the present, selected State publications from earlier years, and some historical materials from the 18th through the early 20th century in many subject areas, including the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Native American materials, New York State laws and natural history.
"Connect(s) researchers with physical archival materials in repositories across New York state...You can discover relevant materials held by a variety of libraries, archives and cultural heritage organizations."
The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.
"Approximately 20,000 documents, which include correspondence with enclosures of newspaper clippings, drafts of speeches, notes, pamphlets, and other printed material by Lincoln, are available. Most of the material dates from the presidential years."
"This site has transcribed letters from the University of Virginia special collections with links to other collections (some links are only accessible by University of Virginia students)."
"A huge online collection of scanned letters, newspaper articles, images, photographs, diaries, and much more, filled with the stories of Michigan soldiers."
"Penn State has a rich digitized special collection. These include diaries, newspapers, and other ephemera. No transcriptions are available for the diaries, but the scanned pages are clean and easy to peruse."
"Approximately 7,000 portraits and battleground images are available. The collection is from the glass negatives of Mathew Brady and Alexander Gardner, as well as from photographic collections that were purchased by the Library of Congress in 1943."
"Nearly 3,000 maps are included in this online composite of three collections from the Library of Congress, the Virginia Historical Society, and the Library of Virginia."
"A collection of letters, photographs, and diary entries that document a lesser-known conflict of the time. The resources are scanned and transcribed."
"Everyday people’s voices speak through their diaries, autobiographies, ex-slave accounts, and memoirs on this site, which is organized alphabetically or by subject."
"This special collection from the University of Notre Dame’s Rare Books and Special Collections contains seven soldier’s diaries, which have been carefully scanned and transcribed. The soldiers represented are from both sides of the war."
"The new era of photography brought the battles home during the American Civil War. The National Archives has organized the Mathew Brady and Alexander Gardner photographs into broad categories for easy browsing."
"The site brings together primary sources by eyewitnesses from the holdings of the University of South Carolina. Included on the site are diaries, sheet music, maps, letters, and photographs."
"Thousands of documents are accessible that compare life in two towns during the war: one in Virginia and one in Pennsylvania. These documents include letters, diaries, maps, newspaper accounts, and other sources."
"The Virginia Military Institute has a proud history of training its students to serve in the military service of the United States. The archives provide access to the full-text of more than 75 letters, diaries, manuscripts, and other ephemera of soldiers from both armies."
"Includes more than 2,300 first-person accounts, and more than 500 photographs. The narratives were collected in the 1930s by the Federal Writer’s Project and the Works Progress Administration."
"Reflecting both sides of the slavery question, these publications from the 1800s include speeches, tracts, pamphlets, books, legal proceedings, religious sermons, and personal accounts."
"From the Library of Congress’s American Memory Project this site consists of trials and cases, arguments, proceedings, and other historical works of importance that relate to the prosecution and defense of slavery as an institution."
With over 1,000 different archival institutions represented, ArchiveGrid helps researchers looking for primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums and historical societies to locate an archive with the information they need.
"The Cornell University Library Making of America Collection is comprised of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction".
Includes New York State publications: contemporary materials from 1995 to the present, selected State publications from earlier years, and some historical materials from the 18th through the early 20th century in many subject areas, including the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, Native American materials, New York State laws and natural history.
"Connect(s) researchers with physical archival materials in repositories across New York state...You can discover relevant materials held by a variety of libraries, archives and cultural heritage organizations."
The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy.
"Approximately 20,000 documents, which include correspondence with enclosures of newspaper clippings, drafts of speeches, notes, pamphlets, and other printed material by Lincoln, are available. Most of the material dates from the presidential years."
"This site has transcribed letters from the University of Virginia special collections with links to other collections (some links are only accessible by University of Virginia students)."
"A huge online collection of scanned letters, newspaper articles, images, photographs, diaries, and much more, filled with the stories of Michigan soldiers."
"Penn State has a rich digitized special collection. These include diaries, newspapers, and other ephemera. No transcriptions are available for the diaries, but the scanned pages are clean and easy to peruse."
"Approximately 7,000 portraits and battleground images are available. The collection is from the glass negatives of Mathew Brady and Alexander Gardner, as well as from photographic collections that were purchased by the Library of Congress in 1943."
"Nearly 3,000 maps are included in this online composite of three collections from the Library of Congress, the Virginia Historical Society, and the Library of Virginia."
"A collection of letters, photographs, and diary entries that document a lesser-known conflict of the time. The resources are scanned and transcribed."
"Everyday people’s voices speak through their diaries, autobiographies, ex-slave accounts, and memoirs on this site, which is organized alphabetically or by subject."
"This special collection from the University of Notre Dame’s Rare Books and Special Collections contains seven soldier’s diaries, which have been carefully scanned and transcribed. The soldiers represented are from both sides of the war."
"The new era of photography brought the battles home during the American Civil War. The National Archives has organized the Mathew Brady and Alexander Gardner photographs into broad categories for easy browsing."
"The site brings together primary sources by eyewitnesses from the holdings of the University of South Carolina. Included on the site are diaries, sheet music, maps, letters, and photographs."
"Thousands of documents are accessible that compare life in two towns during the war: one in Virginia and one in Pennsylvania. These documents include letters, diaries, maps, newspaper accounts, and other sources."
"The Virginia Military Institute has a proud history of training its students to serve in the military service of the United States. The archives provide access to the full-text of more than 75 letters, diaries, manuscripts, and other ephemera of soldiers from both armies."
"Includes more than 2,300 first-person accounts, and more than 500 photographs. The narratives were collected in the 1930s by the Federal Writer’s Project and the Works Progress Administration."
"Reflecting both sides of the slavery question, these publications from the 1800s include speeches, tracts, pamphlets, books, legal proceedings, religious sermons, and personal accounts."
"From the Library of Congress’s American Memory Project this site consists of trials and cases, arguments, proceedings, and other historical works of importance that relate to the prosecution and defense of slavery as an institution."
Electronic databases and journals available for free to all New Yorkers. In order to access them you can either:
a. Use a New York State Library borrower's card (apply for a NYS Library card here), or
b. Access the NOVEL NY databases through Witherill Library's subscription.
Created and maintained by librarian Lynne Olver until 2015 (now archived on the Internet Archive), this website compiles a chronological history of food and recipes, along with their origin, history, related food, and recommended reading. Foods are also indexed alphabetically and by topic.
Items from the Library's digital collections that are free to use and reuse. Content is either in the public domain, has no known copyright, or has been cleared by the copyright owner for public use.
Over 350 libraries, museums, archives, and other cultural institutions in New York make their collections of primary source materials (photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, and more) available in this digital repository.
From the U.S. Census Bureau, the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organizations of the United States of America.
Government information and services on a variety of topics, including the environment, education, health, law, business, immigration, and federal, state, local, and tribal government agencies.
