Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
Contact the Circulation Desk when the library is open for general questions about hours, renewals, etc.
Or, email us anytime at firstname.lastname@example.org
Library Hours of Operation
Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday: 7:45 a.m. - midnight
Friday: 7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday: 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sunday: 2:00 p.m. - midnight
*In the event of severe weather, please contact the library to confirm our hours.
Chat with a Librarian Hours
Monday - Thursday: 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday: 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday: 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
When chat is offline, you can get help by searching our Library FAQ knowledge base or submitting your question to email@example.com
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: Heroes & Superheroes by
Call Number: Ref 741.5 .B348hs 2018 vol. 1-2
Publication Date: 2018-08-01
The library has volumes 1 and 2.
"Heroes and superheroes provides insight into more than 150 of the most popular and studied graphic novels. These essays look beyond the pop culture aspects of the medium to show the wide range of literary themes and artistic styles used to convey beliefs and conflicts, some harking back to ancient times."
Encyclopedia of Rhetoric and Composition by
Call Number: Ref 808.003 .E56e
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
"Drawing on the scholarship and expertise of 288 contributors, the Encyclopedia presents a long-needed overview of rhetoric and its role in contemporary education and communications, discusses rhetoric's contributions to various fields, surveys the applications of this versatile discipline to the teaching of English and language arts, and illustrates its usefulness in all kinds of discourse, argument, and exchange of ideas."
A Glossary of Literary Terms by
Call Number: Ref 803.21 .A161g 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
"This text defines and discusses terms, critical theories, and points of view that are commonly used to classify, analyse, interpret, and write the history of works of literature. The Glossary presents a series of essays in alphabetic order."
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism by
Call Number: Ref 801.95 .J65 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-10
"An international, encyclopedic guide to the field's most important figures, schools, and movements, the new edition reflects the state of literary theory and criticism."
The Oxford Companion to English Literature by
Call Number: Ref 820.9 .O982 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-23
"The leading reference resource for students, teachers, scholars, and general readers of English literature. It provides unrivalled coverage of all aspects of English literature - from writers, their works, and the historical and cultural context in which they wrote, to critics, literary theory, and allusions."
The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States by
Call Number: Ref 810.992 .D252o
Publication Date: 1995-01-05
"A one-volume encyclopaedia covering all aspects of American women's writing, this work includes essays on authors, genres, literary history, criticism, and social and cultural influences. The contributors include Gertrude Stein, Maya Angelou, Edith Wharton, Willa Cather and many others."
The Oxford Handbook of Children's Literature by
Call Number: Ref 820.992 .O98
Publication Date: 2011-03-03
Includes sections on the fundamentals of children's literature criticism, reading history, and innocence and agency.
The Oxford Handbook of Science Fiction by
Call Number: Ref 809.3 .O982s
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
"The Handbook begins with a focus on questions of genre, covering topics such as critical history, keywords, narrative, the fantastic, and fandom. A subsequent section on media engages with film, television, comics, architecture, music, video games, and more. The genre's role in the convergence of art and everyday life animates a third section, which addresses topics such as UFOs, the Atomic Era, the Space Race between the US and USSR, organized religion, automation, the military, sexuality, steampunk, and retrofuturism. The final section on worldviews features perspectives on science fiction's relationship to the gothic, evolution, colonialism, feminism, afrofuturism, utopianism, and posthumanism".
Oxford Illustrated Shakespeare Dictionary by
Call Number: Ref 822.330 .O982
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
"A brand new illustrated alphabetical dictionary of all the words and meanings students of Shakespeare need to know. Every word has an example sentence selected from the twelve most studied plays including Macbeth, Hamlet, Romeo and Juliet, A Midsummer Night's Dream, and Henry V. Usage notes and theatre notes provide additional background to Shakespearean times and the performance of his plays."
The Yale Book of Quotations by
Call Number: Ref 082 .Y17
Publication Date: 2006-10-30
"This reader-friendly volume contains more than 12,000 famous quotations, arranged alphabetically by author. It is unique in its focus on American quotations and its thorough coverage of items not only from literary and historical sources but also from popular culture, sports, computers, politics, law and the social sciences."
Here is a full list of english reference books at the Cazenovia College Library.