LibGuides: Mental Wellness: Finding Help

Cazenovia College Mental Health Services

The following services are available to Cazenovia College students through the Health & Counseling Center.

Mental health counseling: counseling appointments are available free of charge by contacting the Health & Counseling Center at 315-655-7122 or 7207, or by emailing Lori Mulligan, LMHC, CASAC at lamulligan@cazenovia.edu (for non-emergency appointment only).
Bettermynd: an online counseling service, provides 4 free sessions to students.
Psychiatric provider: Deanna Raymond Allen, PA, CIPP, a psychiatric provider will provide medication management and holistic approaches to managing mental health.
Dietician: Erin Kelly, MA, RD, a registered dietician, will provide support to students struggling with food choices, meal planning and eating disorders.

Other Local Mental Health Services

Access CNY
Provides services to over 3,000 individuals in Central New York, including those with mental health and addiction issues.
Liberty Resources Crisis Services
Available 24/7 to children and adults, Liberty's Crisis Services provide intervention, response, and stabilization for behavioral health, domestic violence, and sexual assault emergencies.
Madison County Mental Health Department
Mental health services for residents of Madison County, NY.
NYS Office of Addiction Services and Supports
One of the nation’s largest addiction services systems with approximately 1,600 prevention, treatment and recovery programs.

National and International Organizations

55 Mental Health Resources for People of Color
"While it’s clear that mental health is a crosscutting issue that affects all communities, providing effective services for people of color requires acknowledging and understanding their different lived realities."
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Concise explanations about what mental health is, why it matters, and a variety of data, especially from a public health viewpoint.
Child Mind Institute
Focuses primarily on supporting children with mental illnesses or learning disorders and their families.
MedlinePlus
The premier resource for consumer-health related information.
Mentalhealth.gov
The U.S. government’s one-stop shop for information about mental health.
Mental Health America
Runs several different programs (including #mentalillnessfeelslike) to connect individuals with information about mental illnesses and to provide hope and support for those suffering from mental illness.
Mental Health First Aid USA
An eight-hour course that teaches skills in identifying, understanding, and responding to signs of mental illness or substance use disorders.
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)
NAMI has a number of infographics, fact sheets, and statistics. They also publish two blogs on mental health, one of which features Q&As with experts.
National Council for Behavioral Health
Provides support for more than 3,000 health care organizations that are providing mental health and addiction treatment and services.
National Institute of Health (NIH)
They publish a monthly newsletter, NIH News in Health, that frequently contains mental health-related articles, and they also produce wellness toolkits that provide practical, concrete strategies for improving one’s well-being.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
The primary federal agency conducting research on mental disorders and committed to improving the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses.
Office on Women’s Health
Has robust resources and articles about mental health issues and how they relate to other women’s health issues.

800.NCA.CALL (800.622.2255) - 24-hour helpline sponsored by the National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence
Alcoholics Anonymous
An international fellowship of men and women who have had a drinking problem. It is nonprofessional, self-supporting, multiracial, apolitical, and available almost everywhere.
Safe Project's Treatment Locator
Helps you find a set of treatment centers that are best matched to your or your loved one’s needs, as quickly as possible and in an ethical and independent way.
SAMHSA - Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
The agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation.

National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA)
The largest nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting individuals and families affected by eating disorders.

Anxiety and Depression Association of America
Includes information on various anxiety, mood, and related disorders. Find help section outlines specific therapies, support groups, and links for finding a therapist.
Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance (DBSA)
In addition to general education materials about mood disorders, DBSA also shares myriad stories from people living with mood disorders.

National Center for PTSD
Home to the PTSDpubs article database, the PTSD Trials Standardized Data Repository of Clinical Trials, and numerous mobile apps to designed assist with treatment and self-help.
NIMH: Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
The National Institute of Mental Health's page on Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder includes signs and symptoms, risk factors, and treatment.

988 Suicide and Crisis Lifeline
"The Lifeline provides 24/7, free and confidential support for people in distress, prevention and crisis resources for you or your loved ones, and best practices for professionals in the United States."
Active Minds
A suicide awareness and prevention organization that was founded by a college student after her brother completed suicide.
Crisis Text Line
If you are experiencing a crisis (any painful emotion and anytime you need support), text HOME to 741741 to be connected to a Crisis Counselor. The Crisis Counselor is a trained volunteer, not a professional. They can provide support, but not medical advice.
The Trevor Project
Provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to LGBTQ+ young people (particularly those under 25 years of age).

Chat with a Librarian

Library FAQ

Ask a Librarian

Circulation Desk

Contact the Circulation Desk when the library is open for general questions about hours, renewals, etc.
Phone: 315-655-7240

Or, email us anytime at asklib@cazenovia.libanswers.com

Library Hours of Operation

Hours of Operation

Semester Hours

Monday - Thursday: 7:45 a.m. - midnight

Friday: 7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Saturday: 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.

Sunday: 2:00 p.m. - midnight

In the event of severe weather, please contact the library to confirm our hours.

Chat with a Librarian Hours

Semester Hours

Monday - Thursday: 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Friday: 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Sunday: 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.

When chat is offline, you can get help by searching our Library FAQ knowledge base or submitting your question to asklib@cazenovia.libanswers.com