Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ask a Librarian
Contact the Circulation Desk when the library is open for general questions about hours, renewals, etc.
Or, email us anytime at firstname.lastname@example.org
Library Hours of Operation
Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday: 7:45 a.m. - midnight
Friday: 7:45 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Saturday: 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Sunday: 2:00 p.m. - midnight
*In the event of severe weather, please contact the library to confirm our hours.
Chat with a Librarian Hours
Monday - Thursday: 10:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday: 10:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.
Sunday: 4:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
When chat is offline, you can get help by searching our Library FAQ knowledge base or submitting your question to email@example.com
Call Number: Ref 709.04 .A874a 2013
Publication Date: 2013-12-17
"The leading lexicon of contemporary art returns in an expanded, full-color third edition. An indispensable guide for art-world neophytes and seasoned professionals alike, the best-selling ArtSpeak returns in a revised and expanded third edition, illustrated in full color. Nearly 150 alphabetical entries-30 of them new to this edition-explain the who, what, where, and when of postwar and contemporary art".
Encyclopedia of American Folk Art by
Call Number: Ref 745.097 .E56
Publication Date: 2003-12-17
"This is the first comprehensive, scholarly study of a most fascinating aspect of American history and culture. Generously illustrated with both black and white and full-color photos, this A-Z encyclopedia covers every aspect of American folk art, encompassing not only painting, but also sculpture, basketry, ceramics, quilts, furniture, toys, beadwork, and more, including both famous and lesser-known genres".
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography by
Call Number: Ref 704.903 .R644e v.1
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
Library has volumes 1 and 2.
"Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography (ECI) expands the scope of the thematic guide to art to include mythological, biblical, and literary themes that have been represented in art of all periods and media. In addition to the further reading included with each essay, the encyclopedia provides a bibliography of approximately 300 reference books in English and other European languages".
The Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Art by
Call Number: Ref 709.803 .T948e
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
"Over 1,400 articles in this volume cover all the major artistic developments in Central and South America and the Caribbean from the colonial period to the present. From 16th-century Spanish colonial architects such as Fray Andres San Miguel to European explorers such as Alexander von Humboldt to contemporary artists such as Debora Arango, the entries chart the adaptations of European artistic traditions and the evolution of individual national cultures in this area of burgeoning importance in history and the visual arts".
The Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts by
Call Number: Ref 745.03 .G883
Publication Date: 2006-11-09
The library has volumes 1 and 2.
Volume 1 contains topics Aalto to Kyoto pottery. Volume 2 contains topics Labhardt to Zwischengoldglas.
The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture by
Call Number: Ref 709.176 .G883 v.1-3
Publication Date: 2009-03-23
The library has volumes 1,2, and 3.
"Deals with all aspects of Islamic art and architecture ranging from the Middle East to Africa to Central, South, and East Asia and includes entries on artists, rulers, writers, ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, calligraphy, textiles, and more"
The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art by
Call Number: Ref 702.8 .G8832 2008
Publication Date: 2008-10-06
"The Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques deals with all aspects of materials, techniques, conservation, and restoration in both traditional and nontraditional media, including ceramics, sculpture, metalwork, painting, works on paper, textiles, video, digital art, and more. Drawing upon the expansive scholarship in The Dictionary of Art and adding new entries, this work is a comprehensive reference resource for artists, art dealers, collectors, curators, conservators, students, researchers, and scholars".
Health Hazards Manual for Artists by
Call Number: Ref 615.902 .M4788h
Publication Date: 2008-07-17
"This is the trusted resource for working artists and art students written by the leading authority on these health hazards. Whether you work in painting, photography, sculpture, ceramics, printmaking, woodworking, textiles, computer, or children's art, this is the only reference book that covers all the dangers associated with metals, minerals, and chemicals".
The Queer Encyclopedia of the Visual Arts by
Call Number: Ref 704.086 .Q3
Publication Date: 2004-05-26
"Why is St. Sebastian an icon of gay male artists? Is there such a thing as a gay or lesbian sensibility? What's the connection between Buddhist monasteries and Japanese homoerotic imagery? And are all those European bathing scenes as deliciously homoerotic as they seem? An easy-to-use, culturally inclusive volume with in-depth critical analyses of major figures, and bibliographies to guide further study".
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Photography by
Call Number: Ref 770.3 .T366d
Publication Date: 2015-11-23
"Over 1,200 concise yet fully detailed entries describe all aspects of the subject, including photographers, images, agencies, genres, movements, exhibitions, publications, collectors, techniques, and processes."
Here is a full list of studio art reference books at the Cazenovia College Library.